Too Cool For School Art Class By Rodin Highlighter Review

When Too Cool For School released the Art Class by Rodin contour palette, everybody loved it, even one of my favorite beauty youtubers bubzbeauty holds it in high regard. Now, Too Cool For School has released a HIGHLIGHTER palette of which I have no doubt will also probably sell well due to the good favor of their contour palette. However, is this palette worth the money?

I don’t have the contour palette, however, I am currently saving up to get one soon. In addition to that, this is the first product I have ever bought from Too Cool For School. Too Cool For School is considered a medium brand that’s a little more costly than Etude House. There also isn’t much selection for Too Cool For School products in Hong Kong so when testerkorea had a black Friday sale, I immediately grabbed this product. After all, my growing beginner’s makeup set wouldn’t be complete without a highlighter. With that being said, this product is the first actual highlighter that I bought. (I used to use white eye shadow as a highlight.)

image
image

image
Product details: weighs 11g. Bought for 15,300won in testerkorea. Which is about HKD102. If you’re interested in buying, click here
image
image

Packaging: I LOVE LOVE LOVE the packaging. You can really see the love just by the bold and capitalised letters. The palette comes in a black plastic container with a flamingo pink (just like the box) sticker on top. If you like the packaging, then you would scream when you see the product inside. Drumrolls please.

image

image

This highlighters come in 3 different shades. A nude beige, a peach and a rosy pink. All of which contain specks of glitter. The shadows swatch smoothly but feel slightly powdery on the pan.

image

image

image

I’m pretty sure the finger swatches are not doing anything to really show the color and pigmentation of the products so here is the arm swatch of the three shades.

image
Without flash
image
With flash

For simple application, just mix three of the shades together and apply on the areas you want to stand out like the cheekbones, the forehead and the bridge of the nose. I like to use the first shade for the highlight the nose and the cupid’s bow, then i use the second and third shade to highlight my forehead and my nonexistent cheekbones. Here is a before and after picture.

image
Before. Slightly matte face
image
After. Ignore the pimple please.

Can you spot the difference? Can you? Can you? I’m sure the difficulty would be the same as finding waldo in a beach packed with people. Sigh. I still can’t find Wally in his picture books today.

Performance: I’m a nearly blind person so I usually don’t notice the if one’s wearing makeup or not unless they use crazy colors on their face, however after zooming in on my photos and scrutinizing it closely, there IS something. My face looks more radiant overall after highlighter. This product is not very pigmented, it’s very sheer so it gives you a natural sheen instead of that ethereal goddess glowy look so I won’t really recommend this to people who prefer their highlight to be a little more noticeable or have a dark skin tone.

Rating: 3/5

Repurchase?: No. This is just my preference but I like highlighters that really give you a dewy look. Honestly, it didn’t live up to my hype.

Best for: Beginners like me XD, People who like a natural sheen instead of glowy cheeks.

As my first highlighter, it’s not really that bad, on my arm, it swatches nicely but on my face, it’s kind of unnoticeable.But if you put on too much of it, you look greasy. How about you?  Do you like this product more than I do? I just hope the next highlighter I find will triumph over this one. Are there any other korean brands whose highlighter is a fantastic one? Recommend me some please!

Update
11 Feb 2016 : I can strongly say that I have a love and hate relationship with this item because sometimes the highlight it gives looks good but because of the reflective particles in this product, my pores or rather small pimples are accentuated so I’m raising the rating to a 3.5 out of 5.

image
Good highlight finally.

Update March 3rd: Today was a sad day because this highlighter went to a better place and by better place I meant the trash. I never imagined that the packaging was so fragile that a fall would break the shadows in pieces. Even my maybelline all shine cake free powder with such cheap plastic packaging which fell with it was unharmed whereas the highlighter powder broke so easily. I managed to salvage it with alcohol for the first time but when it fell down for the second time, it fell at a really dirty place so it was already too late to be saved.

So just a reminder, the packaging is really fragile. It’s better not to take it out and just leave it on your vanity!!

Lots of love,
Li Ann

6 thoughts on “Too Cool For School Art Class By Rodin Highlighter Review

    1. Hi, I bought mine online at testerkorea.com because the product was just newly released so even though there is a tcfs branch here, there isn’t the actual product on hand so I also doubt there would also be available there in the US. I also checked some of the other sites selling korean cosmetics and none of them seem to have this yet too so if you really want this product, I would highly encourage you to check out the site here http://bit.ly/1VuluR3. Online sites with shipping based on korea are your best bet in finding new korean cosmetics. Hoped that helped! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. It’s actually the product itself that’s fragile, not the packaging. Also, if you want to buy the contouring one, I suggest you to be even more careful, since even 5 centimetres fall could break it..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the advice! It seems that you are talking from experience xD It’s such a pain having to take great caution for these products and they’re not travel friendly too 😦

      Like

Leave a Reply

