Hong Kong Eats: Hot Star Large Fried Chicken

I love fried chicken, my sister loves fried chicken, my mom loves fried chicken and if YOU love fried chicken and don’t mind raising your cholesterol levels, you will also probably like this.

While I was at MongKok with my sister to go and window shop for cosmetics, we got so hungry that we decided to try this fried chicken from this store. I’ve seen this before in Tin Hau where I used to go to have tutor lessons, however I wasn’t interested in eating fried food because I was already breaking out and eating more would just get me more pimples. However, the store in Mongkok had a much stronger fragrance of fried chicken that’s impossible to escape and a longer line that’s impossible to not notice so we decided to try it out for ourselves.

Boy, did we love it. We regretted not trying this out earlier.

image
Store in Tin Hau

Hot Star Large Fried Chicken is actually from Taiwan. It’s so popular that it has branches not only in Hong Kong but also in China, the Philippines, India, Singapore, Thailand, Malaysia and even Australia.

Here is a picture of their flyer that I got from Tin Hau.

image
I know, I know, blurry photo and thats my SAT book at the back

 

Their most popular one is of course the first one, the Large Fried Chicken which can come in the hot flavor or the normal original one. Being a person with low tolerance of spicy things, I love the original large fried chicken. How large is this fried chicken you may ask. Well, it’s pretty big.  If my hand is about 15cm long using my middle finger as the end, then the chicken would be about twice as long as the size of my hand.  Am I exaggerating? Here are a couple of pictures I’ve taken.

 

image

image
If only you could smell it across the screen, then you would salivate like there’s no tomorrow.

 

image

The fried skin layer is pretty thick but it’s the one that contains the most flavor. There’s a distinct taste of herbs and a hint of pepper which smells heavenly and which attracted me to buy one in the first place. It’s also fresh out of the oil so you’re getting maximum crispiness. There are a couple of stuff that are already prepared and have probably gone cold that you can see it from the window so I always choose this large one because they always make it fresh.

This large fried chicken is enough for two petite girls to be full. If coupled with a beer drink, it would’ve even been better.

To some people, it can be a little too much for them but once they’ve gotten a taste of it. You would probably start salivating everytime you see a picture of it like me.

This used to be cheaper before. I’ve seen a picture that shows that the large fried chicken was only HKD25 before but has now risen to HKD30.

I have no idea why but the store in Tin Hau has a higher price than the store in MongKok so if you wanna save a few coins go to the one in Mongkok. The place where I first tried it was MongKok then after the New Years, I went to the branch in Tin Hau and I was surprised to see that the price rose but then I went back to Mong Kok again and realised there are two different prices. I’m not sure whether it’s because the one in Mongkok has a lot of people lining up for it or not.

image
Mongkok prices

 

The places where I went to buy them are: (there are a couple more branches listed in openrice.com)

G/F, Tat Lee Building, 2Y Sai Yeung Choi Street South, Mong Kok

Shop 1E, G/F, 78 Electric Road, Tin Hau

 

Service: Ok lah

Value For Money: 4/5

Hygiene: 3/5

Deliciousness: 5/5

Overall Rating: 4/5

 

If you come to Hong Kong for a visit, make sure to try them out!

 

Lots of Love,

Li Ann

Leave a Reply

